top of page
  • lanekari1

This Week (April 15, 2019- April 21, 2019)

This Week I…

Watched- After, Grease, and Breakthrough in theaters. I was not particularly impressed with After. I didn’t read the books, so maybe that’s why. Or maybe it was because I didn’t think the main guy was all that attractive. Or maybe it was because there were some obnoxious people in the theater with me. There was a group behind me that would not shut up and there was a group in front of me that kept moving around, like one girl would go to the bathroom and when she could come back, another one would go, and THEY JUST KEPT GOING. Get it together people. Anyway, the movie was ok. I think I’m going to read the books, then see if I want to continue watching the movies. I think there will definitely be more movies because of how the movie ended. This week I also saw Grease in theaters. My local historic art house theater showed the Sing Along version and it was FANTASTIC. Grease is always great, but having a theater, almost full of people, singing their hearts out to these classic songs, it just warmed my heart. I’m really happy I went. The theater set the vibe really nicely as well. There was a classic car show before the movie and a costume contest. Today I saw Breakthrough. I had goosebumps for the majority of it, which isn't surprising seeing as I got goosebumps just from the trailer. This movie was so good and powerful. I will definitely be watching it again and again.

Read- half of Ellie Kemper’s memoir My Squirrel Days. It’s hilarious. I forgot that she was in Bridesmaids, so that was a fun realization. But in general, she’s just hilarious. Her voice is very much her own in this book, as I’m reading it I can envision her saying all these things and telling these stories. I kind of wish I listened to it on audio, although I’m not sure it’s available.

Listened to- Earth by Lil Dicky. I have no idea who Lil Dicky is other than from this song, but the song is amazing. There are tons and tons of celebrities featured in it. The video is super well done and the message is SPOT ON.

Celebrated- Easter. So thankful for a God who gave his only son to die on the cross for me. So thankful that the tomb was empty. I am redeemed.

Visited- my local historic theater for COMM Week. Communications students from the local college debuted their documentaries. The majority of them were really good! There was one about a ballernia’s struggle with eating disorders, one about the broadcast journalism department, one about circus performer who has been in the circus for 30 years, one about a local pawn shop, and one about a basketball player. All of those were good, the last one that showed was someone’s thesis, they did it in documentary form, and it was not good… It’s not that it was not well done, it was just boring. I would not necessarily want to read someone’s dissertation, and I did not want to watch someone’s either. My friend and I tried to stick it out, but ended up leaving before it was over. Sorry sir!

Ate- a delicious donut peep show.

Wore- used clothing! This week was the 18th Annual Fashion Show at the local college. I went to the show ten years ago and met Tim Gunn! So that was hard to top but this year pretty great in its own way. This year the theme was Revolution and it focused on sustainability in the fashion industry. I loved this theme! I love clothing, fashion, and accessories, but I worry about the impact they have on the planet. The fashion industry is the 2nd most wasteful industry after fossil fuels but by thrifting, wearing used clothing, or by extending the life of your clothes by just three months, the waste can be reduced by 72%. I’m all for that! Plus, used clothing is typically cheaper, which really helps me because I’m pretty sure I have a shopping addiction.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page