top of page
  • lanekari1

This Week (April 8 - April 14, 2019)

This Week I…

Watched- A LOT! I saw Dumbo, The Best of Enemies, and Little in theaters. I liked Dumbo. I wasn’t a super big fan of the original one. I liked it well enough, it just wasn’t a Disney movie that I watched over and over again. So I think that helped settle my expectations for this remake. The Best of Enemies was great! First, it is based off an INCREDIBLE true story that I was completely unaware of before this movie came out. Second, there is a character in the movie who is disabled and the actor (Kevin Iannucci) who portrayed him is actually disabled. This seems like a simple thing but it is also pretty groundbreaking, even if it shouldn’t be. None the less, I am glad Hollywood is FINALLY becoming more inclusive. Little was super funny and the clothing was amazeballs. The trailers for the movie were funny, but I was surprised to see that the theater was sold out for a Sunday afternoon show. Maybe it was because of the SNOW in APRIL or maybe it was because Marsai Martin starred in and executive produced the movie at the ripe ol age of 14! Girl is impressive. This week I also watched Girl Boss and Special on Netflix. Girl Boss is based off the memoir #GIRLBOSS, which tells the story of Nasty Gal. The show was really good, although it maybe sugarcoated the actual story. The actress who portrayed Sophia Amoruso (the founder of Nasty Gal) was also in The Longest Ride and it took me foreeeeever to figure that out, but once I did I recognized how cool actors are! These two roles were soooo different and the characters portrayed looked so different, but this one girl could do so much! Finally, I watched Special on Netflix. It was produced by Jim Parsons, so already love. The episodes are 15 minutes long which is great for me, because it’s super binge-able. But, the actual show is amazing! It’s about a gay guy with cerebal palsy learning to live his best life. Even though the episodes are so short and there are only eight available so far, the characters have depth and are very relatable. 10/10 would recommend. AND I JUST FOUND OUT IT'S BASED ON A MEMOIR. The author the memoir is the star of the show. OMGGGG. <3

Read- What Happens in Summer by Caridad Scordato, a romance novel. I used to be embarrassed about the fact that I liked really romance novels, but no more! YOLO! Read what you want. Personally, I like a good mix of romance novels, memoirs, and random other stuff.

Listened to- some more of the Laguna Biotch podcast. It’s great.

Celebrated- me. I feel like this week I finally got like 80% of my shit together. I got organized and accomplished a lot. I also celebrated the 90th Gamma Phi Circus! The Gamma Phi Circus is the world’s oldest collegiate circus and I was part of the Junior Gamma Phi Circus from second grade to eighth grade. The college students helped us learn the tricks and skills we needed. One of those college students is now the director of the Gamma Phi Circus. It’s so cool to see him living out his dreams with this job. Also! At the circus they announced that this year the performers will be performing at the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade! That’s so cool. I love the parade.

Visited- a bunch of craft stores. My sister and I are trying to get the last of things together for her upcoming wedding! I also visited the Really Really Free Market. It is an event that happens once a month at a local park. Anyone can bring items to donate and you can "shop" for anything that is there. It is like a garage sale set up, but everything is free. I think that's such a cool idea.

Ate- chips and queso. I went to the deli for my favorite Caesar salad and they were out, so I chose the next logical thing, obviously.

Wore- clothes appropriate for every season. The weather has been the most unpredictable this week.


12 views0 comments
bottom of page