top of page
  • lanekari1

80 Thoughts on the 2020 Grammy Awards

80 Thoughts on the 2020 Grammy Awards

The Grammy's are one of my favorite award shows and this year was no different on that front but overall they had a different vibe. Kobe Bryant, the all star legend, and his 13 year old daughter died tragically just hours before the show. The show was emotional from start to finish with powerful performances from Camilla Cabello and Demi Lovato and tributes to Prince, Nipsey Hussle and Kobe Bryant. Here are my thoughts:

  1. Lizzo started it OFF with, “Tonight is for Kobe!” Yes

  2. Lizzo the ultimate orchestra director

  3. This dress

5. I love ballet

6. Doing ballet to truth hurts. YESSS

7. More ballerinas!

8. I wonder if the dancers get to stay and watch the rest of the show

9. She’s so excited!

10. Very into Lil Nas X’s look tonight

11. “Standing heartbroken in the house that Kobe Bryant built.” It would be so hard to be at the Staples Center and be happy right now.

12. Alicia Keyes and Boyz II Men singing “Goodbye to Yesterday” is literally giving me chills right now

13. I like Blake Shelton, Gwen Stefani is only ok. Meh.

14. Gwen looks like the bridal version of the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland. No.

15. Very into Ariana Grande’s look tonight

16. Not into Billie Eilish’s look

17. This piano number must have been her original opening plan

18. Lil Nas is sitting by Ellen, yesss

19. Here we go, this is the Alicia Keyes VOICE

20. “Commander in Chief impeached, yall let’s bring Cardi B in.” YESSS

21. Billy Porter looks AMAZING

22. “Ladies, Gentleman, and those who are yet to make up their minds” The Grammy’s are the best for reasons like this!

23. Now it’s the Jo Bros!!

24. Into this gold suit, Kevin!

26. The Jo Sisters are doing their choreography from the video. How cute!

27. LIZZO WON!

28. Seriously, so dead over this dress.

29. Trevor Noah, best speaking voiceeee

30. I don’t really listen to Tyler The Creator, but this is a cool performance

31. These Tyler clones remind me of when Eminen performed with all the Slim Shady clones at the VMAs

32. Shania Twain looks flawless

33. YES!!! Speechless by Dan and Shay won. I love them!! And that song <3

34. Oh damn DANIEL, this pink suit

35. This is a good Prince tribute

36. I’ve never heard this song (First Man) by Camilla Cabelo. I like it

37. Aw there’s home videos

38. Her dad is crying. OMG, I’m going to cry.

39. I’m going to dance with my dad to this song at my wedding

40. This song (Bring Me Flowers) by Tanya Tucker is especially relevant today.

41. Dave Chapelle was the one person I did not want to win. I watched like 10 minutes of his special and turned it off. Boo.

42. Ben Platt is looking good. The blazer

43. Ariana Grande can SINGGGG

44. I love her

45. She looks like a Barbie doll

46. Aerosmith has only won 4 Grammy’s?? That’s surprising

47. The crowd doesn’t seem super into this performance

48. RUN DMC and Aerosmith are both so good but I’m not digging this performance. I think it’s a flop.

49. Also, anytime I see Rev Run, I think of him in the bathtub at the end of each Run’s House

50. Dang! Tyler the Creator just JUMPED UP on stage

51. Lil Nas in this sparkly shirt and pants. YESSS

53. I wonder if they’re getting dizzy

54. He’s playing the trumpet!

55. IT’S DEMI LOVATO TIME

56. Tonight is the night of the ball gowns

57. Oh. She restarted.

59. Yes! She deserves this standing ovation.

60. John Legend and DJ Khalid taking us to church

61. John Legend has tails on. How fancy.

62. They put Kobe up there with Nipsey Hussle. That’s good.

63. LOVING the women of Little Big Town’s dresses

64. My Girl <3

65. I didn’t realize that’s what Lewis Capaldi looked like

66. I wonder how their parents came up with the names Billie and Finneas Eilish

67. Alicia Keyes has such a pretty voice

68. Sharon Osbourne reading these rap song names and artists is just something…

69. This song (Sometimes) by H.E.R. is good. She reminds me of Alicia Keyes

70. I love this song (Angel from Montgomery) sung by Bonnie Raitt

71. This Land with the Roots is so good.

72. Also, very current

73. Billie Eilish is winning all the awards

74. Going out with a bang and this orchestral performance

75. The ballerinas are back!!

76. Is that Misty Copeland? Yes

77. Great performance!!

78. Billie Eilish won everythinggggg

79. What’s the difference between song of the year and record of the year?

80. She won everything. Good for her. I’m over it.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page